Goal 15 - Life on land

Goal 15 - Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss
Targets Indicators Unit of measure Reference period Latest data Previous period Data for previous period Data provider Source
...
not applicable
PR
Proxy indicator
15.1 By 2020, ensure the conservation, restoration and sustainable use of terrestrial and inland freshwater ecosystems and their services, in particular forests, wetlands, mountains and drylands, in line with obligations under international agreements More information on indicator 15.1.115.1.1 Forest area as a proportion of total land area Percentage 2015 38 2010 38 Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Numerator: Global Forest Resources Assessment 2015,
Denominator: Statistics Canada Summary Table for Land and freshwater area, by province and territory
15.1.2 Proportion of important sites for terrestrial and freshwater biodiversity that are covered by protected areas, by ecosystem type Exploring data sources
15.2 By 2020, promote the implementation of sustainable management of all types of forests, halt deforestation, restore degraded forests and substantially increase afforestation and reforestation globally 15.2.1 Progress towards sustainable forest management 5 sub-indicators            
More information on indicator 15.2.1.a15.2.1.a Forest area net change rate
Percentage (per year) ... ... 2010-2015 0% Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Global Forest Resources Assessment 2015
15.2.1.b Above-ground biomass stock in forestTable note 1
Tonnes/hectare 2010 98 2005 99 Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Global Forest Resources Assessment 2015
More information on indicator 15.2.1.c15.2.1.c Proportion of forest area located within legally established protected areas
Percentage 2000-2006 6.8 ... ... Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Global Forest Resources Assessment 2015
15.2.1.d Proportion of forest area under a long term forest management plan
Percentage 2010 59 ... ... Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Global Forest Resources Assessment 2015
More information on indicator 15.2.1.e15.2.1.e Forest area under an independently verified forest management certification scheme
Hectares 2016 167,797,442 2015 166,163,538 Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Certification Canada - Canadian Statistics
15.3 By 2030, combat desertification, restore degraded land and soil, including land affected by desertification, drought and floods, and strive to achieve a land degradation-neutral world 15.3.1 Proportion of land that is degraded over total land area Exploring data sources
15.4 By 2030, ensure the conservation of mountain ecosystems, including their biodiversity, in order to enhance their capacity to provide benefits that are essential for sustainable development 15.4.1 Coverage by protected areas of important sites for mountain biodiversity Exploring data sources
15.4.2 Mountain Green Cover IndexTable note 2 Exploring data sources
15.5 Take urgent and significant action to reduce the degradation of natural habitats, halt the loss of biodiversity and, by 2020, protect and prevent the extinction of threatened species 15.5.1.PR Canadian Species IndexTable note 3 Percent change from 1970 baselineTable note 4 2014 -10 2013 -9 Environment and Climate Change Canada  
15.6 Promote fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising from the utilization of genetic resources and promote appropriate access to such resources, as internationally agreed 15.6.1.PR Has Canada adopted legislative, administrative and policy frameworks to ensure fair and equitable sharing of benefits, since the adoption of the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity (2010)Table note 5 Yes / No 2017 No ... ... Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) The Access and Benefit-sharing Clearing-House
15.7 Take urgent action to end poaching and trafficking of protected species of flora and fauna and address both demand and supply of illegal wildlife products 15.7.1 Proportion of traded wildlife that was poached or illicitly trafficked Exploring data sources
15.8 By 2020, introduce measures to prevent the introduction and significantly reduce the impact of invasive alien species on land and water ecosystems and control or eradicate the priority species 15.8.1.PR Does Canada adopt relevant national legislation for the prevention or control of invasive alien species?Table note 6 Yes/No 2018 Yes ... ... Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) An Invasive Alien Species Strategy for Canada
15.9 By 2020, integrate ecosystem and biodiversity values into national and local planning, development processes, poverty reduction strategies and accounts 15.9.1 Progress towards national targets established in accordance with Aichi Biodiversity Target 2 of the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 Indicator under development
15.a Mobilize and significantly increase financial resources from all sources to conserve and sustainably use biodiversity and ecosystems 15.a.1 Official development assistance and public expenditure on conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and ecosystems
2 Sub Indicators            
15.a.1.a Official development assistance on conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and ecosystemsTable note 7
US$ Millions 2015 60,911,123 2014 44,016,478 OECDTable note 8Table note 9 OECD Statistics
15.a.1.b Public expenditures on conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and ecosystemsTable note 10
Canadian dollars (CAN$) 2016 1,477,000,000 2015 1,454,000,000 Statistics CanadaTable note 11 Table 385-0041
15.b Mobilize significant resources from all sources and at all levels to finance sustainable forest management and provide adequate incentives to developing countries to advance such management, including for conservation and reforestation 15.b.1 Official development assistance and public expenditure on conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and ecosystems US$ Millions 2016 895,186 2015 1,928,266 OECDTable note 12 OECD Statistics
15.c Enhance global support for efforts to combat poaching and trafficking of protected species, including by increasing the capacity of local communities to pursue sustainable livelihood opportunities 15.c.1 Proportion of traded wildlife that was poached or illicitly trafficked Exploring data sources
Date modified:

Objectif 15 - Vie terrestre

Objectif 15 - Préserver et restaurer les écosystèmes terrestres, en veillant à les exploiter de façon durable, gérer durablement les forêts, lutter contre la désertification, enrayer et inverser le processus de dégradation des terres et mettre fin à l'appauvrissement de la biodiversité
Cibles Indicateurs Unité de mesure Période de référence Données les plus récentes Période précédente Données pour la période précédente Le fournisseur de données Source
...
n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
IND
Indicateur indirect
15.1 D'ici à 2020, garantir la préservation, la restauration et l'exploitation durable des écosystèmes terrestres et des écosystèmes d'eau douce et des services connexes, en particulier des forêts, des zones humides, des montagnes et des zones arides, conformément aux obligations découlant des accords internationaux Plus d'informations sur l'indicateur 15.1.115.1.1 Surface des zones forestières, en proportion de la surface terrestre Pourcentage 2015 38 2010 38 Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Numérateur: Évaluation des ressources forestières mondiales 2015,
Dénominateur: Tableau sommaire de Statistique Canada pour les terres et les eaux douces, par province et territoire
15.1.2 Proportion des sites importants pour la biodiversité terrestre et lab iodiversité des eaux douces qui se trouvent dans des aires protégées (par type d'écosystème) En recherche de sources de données
15.2 D'ici à 2020, promouvoir la gestion durable de tous les types de forêts, mettre un terme à la déforestation, restaurer les forêts dégradées et accroître nettement le boisement et le reboisement au niveau mondial 15.2.1 Progrès vers la gestion durable des forêts 5 sous-indicateurs    
Plus d'informations sur l'indicateur 15.2.1.a15.2.1.a Taux de variation nette des terres forestières
Pourcentage (par année) ... ... 2010-2015 0 % Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Évaluation des ressources forestières mondiales 2015
15.2.1.b Stocks de biomasse de surface en forêtNote de tableau 1
Tonnes/hectare 2010 98 2005 99 Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Évaluation des ressources forestières mondiales 2015
Plus d'informations sur l'indicateur 15.2.1.c15.2.1.c Proportion des terres forestières situées à l'intérieur des aires protégées officiellement établies
Pourcentage 2000-2006 6,8 ... ... Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Évaluation des ressources forestières mondiales 2015
15.2.1.d Proportion des terres forestières assujetties à un plan d'aménagement forestier à long terme
Pourcentage 2010 59 ... ... Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Évaluation des ressources forestières mondiales 2015
Plus d'informations sur l'indicateur 15.2.1.e15.2.1.e Terres forestières assujetties à un schéma de certification pour l'aménagement forestier faisant l'objet d'une vérification indépendante
Hectares 2016 167 797 442 2015 166 163 538 Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) Certification Canada - Statistiques canadiennes
15.3 D'ici à 2030, lutter contre la désertification, restaurer les terres et sols dégradés, notamment les terres touchées par la désertification, la sécheresse et les inondations, et s'efforcer de parvenir à un monde sans dégradation des terres 15.3.1 Surface des terres dégradées, en proportion de la surface terrestre En recherche de sources de données
15.4 D'ici à 2030, assurer la préservation des écosystèmes montagneux, notamment de leur biodiversité, afin de mieux tirer parti de leurs bienfaits essentiels pour le développement durable 15.4.1 Sites importants pour la biodiversité des montagnes qui se trouvent dans des aires protégées En recherche de sources de données
15.4.2 Indice de couvert végétal montagneuxNote de tableau 2 En recherche de sources de données
15.5 Prendre d'urgence des mesures énergiques pour réduire la dégradation du milieu naturel, mettre un terme à l'appauvrissement de la biodiversité et, d'ici à 2020, protéger les espèces menacées et prévenir leur extinction 15.5.1.IND Indice des espèces canadiennesNote de tableau 3 Changement en pourcentage par rapport au niveau de référence de 1970Note de tableau 4 2014 -10 2013 -9 Environnement et Changement climatique Canada Indice des espèces canadiennes
15.6 Favoriser le partage juste et équitable des bénéfices découlant de l'utilisation des ressources génétiques et promouvoir un accès approprié à celles-ci, ainsi que cela a été décidé à l'échelle internationale 15.6.1.IND Le Canada a-t-il établi des cadres législatifs, administratifs et stratégiques afin d'assurer le partage juste et équitable des bénéfices depuis l'adoption du Protocole de Nagoya sur l'accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage juste et équitable des bénéfices engendrés par leur utilisation à la Convention sur la diversité biologique (2010)Note de tableau 5 Oui/Non 2017 Non ... ... Environnement et Changement climatique Canada Le Centre d'échange d'informations sur l'accès et le partage des avantages
15.7 Prendre d'urgence des mesures pour mettre un terme au braconnage et au trafic d'espèces végétales et animales protégées et s'attaquer au problèmesous l'angle de l'offre et de la demande 15.7.1 Proportion du braconnage et du trafic illicite dans le commerce des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages En recherche de sources de données
15.8 D'ici à 2020, prendre des mesures pour empêcher l'introduction d'espèces exotiques envahissantes, atténuer sensiblement les effets que ces espèces ont sur les écosystèmes terrestres et aquatiques et contrôler ou éradiquer les espèces prioritaires 15.8.1.IND Le Canada a-t-il adopté des législations nationales pertinentes pour la prévention ou le contrôle des espèces exotiques envahissantes?Note de tableau 6 Oui/Non 2018 Oui ... ... Environnement et Changement climatique Canada Stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes
15.9 D'ici à 2020, intégrer la protection des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité dans la planification nationale, dans les mécanismes de développement, dans les stratégies de réduction de la pauvreté et dans la comptabilité 15.9.1 Progrès réalisés vers les objectifs nationaux établis conformément à l'objectif 2 d'Aichi pour la biodiversité du Plan stratégique pour la diversité biologique 2011-2020 Indicateur en cours de développement
15.a Mobiliser des ressources financières de toutes provenances et les augmenter nettement pour préserver la biodiversité et les écosystèmes et les exploiter durablement 15.a.1 Aide publique au développement et dépenses publiques consacrées à la préservation et à l'exploitation durable de la biodiversité et des écosystèmes 2 sous-indicateurs            
15.a.1.a Aide publique au développement à la préservation et à l'exploitation durable de la biodiversité et des écosystèmesNote de tableau 7
Millions de $US 2015 60 911 123 2014 44 016 478 OCDENote de tableau 8Note de tableau 9 Staistiques OCDE
15.a.1.b Dépenses publiques consacrées à la préservation et à l'exploitation durable de la biodiversité et des écosystèmesNote de tableau 10
Dollars canadiens ($CAN) 2016 1 477 000 000 2015 1 454 000 000 Statistique CanadaNote de tableau 11 CANSIM table385-0041
15.b Mobiliser d'importantes ressources de toutes provenances et à tous les niveaux pour financer la gestion durable des forêts et inciter les pays en développement à privilégier ce type de gestion, notamment aux fins de la préservation des forêts et du reboisement 15.b.1 Aide publique au développement et dépenses publiques consacrées à la préservation et à l'exploitation durable de la biodiversité et des écosystèmes Millions de $US 2016 895 186 2015 1 928 266 OCDENote de tableau 12 Staistiques OCDE
15.c Apporter, à l'échelon mondial, un soutien accru à l'action menée pour lutter contre le braconnage et le trafic d'espèces protégées, notamment en donnant aux populations locales d'autres moyens d'assurer durablement leur subsistance 15.c.1 Proportion du braconnage et du trafic illicite dans le commerce des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages En recherche de sources de données
Date de modification :