Transportation Data and Information Hub

What's new this month

Transportation Data and Information Hub (TDIH)

August 15, 2018

August 2018

Transport Canada's five supply-chain visibility projects were launched in 2017 with the objective of improving the efficiency and connectivity of the national multimodal transportation network. One of these projects is the Greater Toronto Area e-commerce supply-chain visibility project. This project aims to increase the visibility of e-commerce supply chains to identify strategic infrastructure and data needs, as well as policy questions affecting the three levels of government.

As part of this project, an e-commerce discussion forum was held in Toronto, Ontario, on June 27, 2018. Participants from all levels of government, industry and academia met to discuss the impacts of e-commerce on Canada's transportation network to gain a better understanding of the e-commerce supply chain and logistics across various levels (national, regional and local). The forum was jointly organized by Transport Canada, the Region of Peel, the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario and the University of Toronto Transportation Research Institute.

The forum consisted of an opening panel discussion and four discussion sessions where the following issues were highlighted:

  • The Canadian transportation sector needs to continue improving its understanding of e-commerce and must continue to prepare for the expected increased growth in e-commerce.
  • A greater emphasis should be placed on understanding the possible impact e-commerce will have on data collection to avoid a data gap.
  • Increased collaboration is required with key stakeholders from various modes throughout the supply chain to address infrastructure and policy challenges.
  • E-commerce is bringing new delivery methods. A project was announced at the forum between the Pembina Institute, UPS and Transport Canada to look at the impact of micro hubs, supported by cargo bikes, in cities.

Transport Canada will continue to work with its partners and stakeholders to ensure that Canada's transportation system is equipped to support the growing e-commerce sector. The next forum is expected to take place in fall 2018.

For more information, please contact Statistics Canada (toll-free 1-800-263-1136; 514-283-8300; STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Welcome to the Transportation Data and Information Hub, developed in partnership by Transport Canada and Statistics Canada to provide you with an authoritative source of data and information about transportation in Canada. The Hub is part of the Canadian Centre on Transportation Data (CCTD).

Want to know more? Read more about the CCTD and the Hub.

Resources

Data

Explore the data on transportation by mode.

Analysis

Find analysis on Canada's transportation system.

Performance

See how Canada's transportation system is performing.

About the transportation system

Learn more about transportation and explore the system.

Collaboration

Learn more about the partners who support Canada's efficient, safe, secure and green transportation system.

Questions about our products?

Please contact us:

  • Telephone:
    (toll free) 1-800-263-1136
    (international) 1-514-283-8300
    TTY: 1-800-363-7629
  • Our agents are available Monday to Friday (except holidays) from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.
  • Email: STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca

The Canadian Transportation System

A healthy Canadian economy is strongly connected to a well-functioning transportation sector. Transportation allows products, services and people to access key markets at home and abroad. This helps create prosperity and economic opportunities. Employment in commercial transport industries accounts for about 5% of Canadian jobs, a share that has remained stable over the past two decades. In 2016, Canada's combined total household spending on transportation (including insurance) was $179.5 billion – second only to shelter, in terms of major spending categories. Household spending for personal travel accounted for about 10% of GDP. Read more about the Canadian Transportation System.

Features

Transportation in Canada 2016

Transportation in Canada 2016 Annual Report

Transportation 2030

Transportation 2030: A strategic plan for the future of transportation in Canada

Canada and the World Statistics Hub

The Canada and the World Statistics Hub provides information related to Canada's economic and financial activity with the world. It brings together data from a number of Statistics Canada products and presents it in a single interactive analytical tool.

Date modified:

Carrefour de données et d'information sur les transports

Quoi de neuf ce mois-ci?

Carrefour de données et d'information sur les transports (CDIT)

Le 15 Août 2018

Août 2018

Les cinq projets de visibilité de la chaîne d'approvisionnement de Transports Canada ont été lancés en 2017 dans le but d'améliorer l'efficacité et la connectivité du réseau national de transport multimodal. L'un de ces projets est le projet de visibilité des chaînes d'approvisionnement du commerce électronique de la région du Grand Toronto. Ce projet vise à accroître la visibilité des chaînes d'approvisionnement du commerce électronique afin de déterminer les besoins en matière d'infrastructure stratégique et de données, ainsi que les questions de politique qui touchent les trois paliers de gouvernement.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, un forum de discussion sur le commerce électronique a eu lieu à Toronto (Ontario), le 27 juin 2018. Des participants de tous les paliers de gouvernement, de l'industrie et du milieu universitaire se sont rencontrés pour discuter de l'incidence du commerce électronique sur le réseau de transport du Canada afin de mieux comprendre la chaîne d'approvisionnement et la logistique du commerce électronique à divers niveaux (national, régional et local). Le forum a été organisé conjointement par Transports Canada, la Région de Peel, le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario et le Transportation Research Institute (Institut de recherche sur les transports) de l'Université de Toronto.

Le forum a consisté en une discussion d'ouverture en groupe, suivie de quatre séances de discussion où les questions suivantes ont été soulignées :

  • Le secteur canadien des transports doit continuer à améliorer sa compréhension du commerce électronique et doit continuer à se préparer en vue de la croissance accrue prévue dans le domaine du commerce électronique.
  • Une plus grande importance devrait être accordée à la compréhension des répercussions possibles qu'aura le commerce électronique sur la collecte de données afin d'éviter une lacune en matière de données.
  • Une collaboration accrue est nécessaire avec les principaux intervenants des divers modes tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement afin de relever les défis liés à l'infrastructure et aux politiques.
  • Le commerce électronique crée de nouvelles méthodes de livraison. Un projet a été annoncé lors du forum entre le Pembina Institute, UPS et Transports Canada afin d'examiner l'incidence des microcarrefours, appuyés par des vélos-cargos, dans les villes.

Transports Canada continuera de collaborer avec ses partenaires et les intervenants afin de s'assurer que le système de transport canadien est équipé pour appuyer le secteur en pleine croissance que revêt le commerce électronique. Le prochain forum devrait avoir lieu à l'automne 2018.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec Statistique Canada (numéro sans frais 1-800-263-1136, 514-283-8300, STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Bienvenue au Carrefour de données et d'information sur les transports, élaboré conjointement par Transports Canada et Statistique Canada pour vous offrir une source sûre de données et d'information sur le secteur du transport canadien. Le Carrefour est un produit du Centre canadien de données sur les transports (CCDT).

Vous voulez en savoir davantage? Lisez à propos du CCDT et du Carrefour.

Ressources

Données

Explorez les données sur le transport selon le mode.

Analyses

Trouvez des analyses sur le réseau de transport canadien.

Efficacité

Voyez de quelle façon le réseau de transport au Canada est efficace.

Au sujet du réseau de transport

Apprenez en plus sur les transports et explorez le réseau.

Collaboration

Apprenez en plus au sujet des partenaires qui appuient un réseau de transport efficace, sûr, sécuritaire et respectueux de l'environnement au Canada.

Vous avez des questions sur nos produits?

Veuillez communiquer avec nous :

  • Téléphone :
    (sans frais) 1-800-263-1136
    (international) 1-514-283-8300
    ATS :1-800-363-7629
  • Nos agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés) de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30.
  • Courriel : STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca

Le réseau de transport canadien

Une économie canadienne forte est étroitement liée à un secteur des transports qui fonctionne bien. Le transport permet aux produits, aux services et aux personnes d'accéder aux principaux marchés au pays et à l'étranger. Cela permet d'assurer la prospérité et de créer des possibilités économiques. L'emploi dans les industries de transport commercial représente environ 5 % des emplois canadiens, une proportion qui est demeurée stable au cours des deux dernières décennies. En 2016, les dépenses totales combinées reliées aux transports (incluant les assurances) des ménages au Canada étaient de 179,5 milliards de dollars — devancé uniquement par le logement, en ce qui a trait aux principales catégories de dépenses. Les dépenses des ménages pour les déplacements personnels représentaient environ 10 % du produit intérieur brut. Apprenez-en plus au sujet du réseau de transport canadien.

En vedette

Les Transports au Canada 2016

Les Transports au Canada Rapport annuel 2016

Transports 2030

Transports 2030 – Un plan stratégique pour l'avenir des transports au Canada

Centre de statistiques sur le Canada et le monde

Le Centre de statistiques sur le Canada et le monde fournit des informations sur l'activité économique et financière du Canada avec le monde. Il regroupe des données provenant de plusieurs produits de Statistique Canada et les présente dans un seul outil d'analyse interactif.

Date de modification :